Newsletter Community EN | ΕΛ


Main Page Content

Back to Glossary


Second-degree governmental entities, dividing Greece into 13 administrative units. Under the 2010 “Kallikratis” plan that reformed local government, responsibilities previously held by Nomarchies (Prefectures) were consolidated and transferred to Regions. Regions are supposed to have an important role in the child protection system through Social Care Directorates and Social Welfare Centres.